The Historical Society of Carroll County

Location: 210 East Main Street, Westminster, MD 21157

Parking is Available Behind the Kimmey House

HSCC Offices:
410-848-6494, ext.200

Administrative Offices:
Wednesdays – Saturdays, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Sundays, 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Shellman Shop and Bookstore
Wednesday – Saturday from 10 am – 4 pm for browsing, accepting phone, online, mail, email, and curbside requests.

Sunday from 12 pm – 4 pm

Shipley’s Memorial Gardens
Open Sunup to Sundown

Library & Research:
410-848-6494, ext. 204

Research Library

Open for Walk-ins, Space is Limited; Reservations are Encouraged, accepting mail, email, Office Manager Email, Click for Research Request Form and phone requests.

Wednesday – Fridays from 12 pm – 4 pm & Saturdays from 10 am – 1 pm

Sherman-Fisher-Shellman House:
Tours by appointment


Experience local history by visiting one of Westminster’s earliest homes. Tours of the Sherman-Fisher-Shellman house and Cockey’s Tavern tell Carroll County’s story and reveal the lifestyles of the influential individuals that resided there. Our historic homes combine the traditional Carroll County farmhouse with ethnic traditions of the Pennsylvania-German heritage and architecture. In addition to the house tours, guests will see the Historical Society’s many artifacts and collections that reflect Carroll County displayed through changing and permanent exhibits. Individual and group tours are by appointment only. Prices for tours are $5.00 per person and free for HSCC members. For more information or to schedule a visit to see our historic homes, call 410.848.6494, ext. 200

Contact us using the form below

The Historical Society of Carroll County Staff

Jason Illari
Executive Director
410-848-6494, Ext. 202

Christina A. Yoder
Office Manager
410-848-6494, Ext. 200

Catherine E. Baty
Curator of Collections
410-848-6494, Ext. 203

*Krista Siefert
410-848-6494, Ext. 201

*Bev Staub
Administrative Development
410-848-6494, Ext. 205

*Part-time Employees

Your Membership Counts!

Become a Member Today and Join Us in Connecting the Past and Present.

Become a Member

Help Support Our Mission

Donate Today and Help Us Keep the History of Carroll County Alive.

Support the Museum